2001 GNC Awards Banquet



Jeremiah Jones was the man of the night. Here he accepts his ’01 Pro Rider of the Year Award. He also took home number one honors in the elite Pro Class and the 250 Pro-Am class.

The season ending banquet came about back when Byron Goggin took the initiative to throw the party. You may recall that Goggin also provided quality videos of the ATV race scene. A new job with Fox Sports Net in Michigan and the lack of interest from his kids have lured him away from the sport. Thanks to Sherri Taylor, Mark Baldwin’s g-friend, the 2001 GNC Awards Banquet continued to go off in the style that Goggin left it.

ATV Sport People’s Choice Awards:
Most Influential Manufacturer of the Year: Roll Design
Promoter of the Year: Donny Banks
Engine Builder of the Year: Sparks Racing
Amateur Rider of the Year: Tavis Cain
Youth Rider of the Year: Keeton Hanks
Mechanic of the Year: Mark Baldwin
Race Team of the Year: Duncan Racing
Extra Mile Award: John McGhee


The Women’s class was one of the most exciting classes to watch all year! Angela Moore won the championship by only one point over Heather Rose. Here Angela talks with Mark Straubinger – (AKA Banger, voice of the GNCs and banquet narrator) about the road to yet another title. Meanwhile, Heather Rose whispers to Hollie Shartzer that Joe Byrd is acting a bit strange tonight….


“Luber” – Jason Luburgh speaks on his rookie season in the pro class while excepting his Four-Stroke Pro-Am championship.


Big Nac awards Dustin Shuler with the Darren Naccarato Memorial Award. Shuler got a huge ovation while accepting the honor from Big Jim.


Mark Baldwin thankfully accepts his People’s Choice Mechanic of the Year Award – presented by ATV Sport.

ImageDunkster – Slam Dunks the Big One!
Jason Dunkelberger won the lucrative Randy Howard Memorial Award from Ray Howard. Dunk was touched and honored to have earned the prestigious award.

Take note of the Pro Class Award in the foreground of this shot to on the left. Julie LeMay and Sherri Taylor put these together. They come complete with the rider’s picture on their respective award – way cool girls!

ImageThe highlight of the night was when Joe Byrd was called to the stage to draw a ticket stub for a lucky door prize winner.

People thought the door prize award must be fixed.when Joe picked a ticket with his girlfriend’s name, Heather Rose, on the ticket.

When she came up on stage to claim her prize, Joe asked her to marry him. The crowd gave their approval with a standing ovation.

ImageIronically, Angela Moore was asked the very same thing the night before the awards banquet. She accepted and will become Mrs. Charlie Harman.

Congratulations to both front-running ladies. We wish them all the best in their new marriages.


Professional Class of 2001. Left to right in their respective numbers; Jeremiah Jones (1), Tim Farr (2), Shane Hitt (3), Doug Gust (4), Joe Byrd (7), Jason Luburgh (8), Ben Jackson (9) and Nathan Dallas (10). Not pictured, Travis Spader (5) and Kory Ellis


The Women Class front runners. Top three are on the stage and 4-8 in front. Aren’t women racers supposed to be manly looking? Glad this unspoken rule is not found in the ATV scene – our girls are hot on and off the track.


photo above and below by: Jack Moore. PEP’s Wayne Mooradian, ATVA’s Doug Morris, yours truly John Pellan and Lost Creek Cycle’s Kevin M. traded post awards presentation dancing for hallway discussions of bettering ATV racing in the future.


John Pellan and Kevin M. of Lost Creek Cycles


photo by: Jack Moore Wait…What did I say the highlight of the night was again? Yours truly seen here with Hollie Shartzer and Tracy Soloman.

Congratulations to:
Jeremiah Jones, Jason Luburgh, Chad Lohr, Tavis Cain, Angela Moore, Jason Rich, Marc Lobdell, Dustin Wimmer, Donald Lamborn, John Winkelbauer, Brad Miller, Keeton Hanks, Brian Eakin, JR Hinds, Nate Frees, Corey Matthews, Kris Butter, David Porter and Andy Luburgh — As they are the last true Grand National Champions of their respective classes.

  • Tags:

  • Comments


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    ATV Scene.com